Czechs in the City: The Czech-American Experience in Cleveland

More bio… | March 15, 2009

I live in Cleveland Heights and work at the Louis Stokes V.A. Medical Center,  like my hero Harvey Pekar.

I’m not a Czech myself but I enjoy learning about this living community which is so tied to my hometown. In today’s globalized market/ village Cleveland, Ohio is not really that far away from the Czech Republic.

Let’s see, what else? I went to Cleveland Heights High School, I ran into Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger during one of his morning walks back in 1999, I volunteer with the Cleveland Orchestra every week (so I get to enjoy all the honeymoon but none of the headache), I prefer cats, I never care what the New York Times has to say about anything and am sincerely puzzled that anyone DOES. I eat whole grain toast w/peanut butter or almond butter every morning, some of my favorite movies are (Au Hasard Balthasar, Bladerunner’s 1982 version, Ugetsu, Pickpocket, The Secret Life of Words…


1 Comment »

  1. Whether its quartz, granite or solid surface black is
    the color for 2014. We usually tend to pay attention to all the other rooms and the kitchen gets overshadowed.
    This type of kitchen remodeling is done when your cabinets are generally sturdy and not in need of more than cosmetic work.

    Comment by Sunny — January 13, 2014 @ 10:20 am


Leave a comment

About author

I live in Cleveland Heights and work at teh Louis Stokes V.A. Medical Center. Kind of like my hero Harvey Pekar. I'm not a Czech myself but I enjoy learning about this living community which is so tied to my hometown. Let's see, what else? I went to Cleveland Heights High School, I ran into Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger during one of his morning walks back in 1999, I volunteer with the Cleveland Orchestra every week (so I enjoy all the honeymoon with none of the headache), I prefer cats, I eat whole grain toast w/peanut butter or almond butter every morning, some of my favorite movies are (Au Hasard Balthasar, Bladerunner's 1982 version, Ugetsu, Pickpocket...

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds